The Specialist Advanced (SA) modules require individuals to apply specific knowledge and principles of actuarial practice to the provision of specific practice areas.

Modules SA1 – SA7 will be assessed using a 3 hours and 15 minutes paper-based examination. These will be taken in
an examination centre. Those who are planning to undertake some original research on an actuarial topic can apply
to take the SA0 route. The research should be at MPhil or PHD level and is likely to require at least 2 years of study.
The IFoA must be involved from the start of the project and agree the objectives of the research.

No change in SA0 to SA4
The Specialist Principle modules are:


Research Master’s Thesis

Health and Care

Life Insurance

General Insurance


Investment and Finance

The two existing Finance and Investment modules, SA5and SA6, have been combined into one module, SA7.
The content of SA7 comes from the current SA6 with some additional corporate finance objectives from SA5
being incorporated.

One of these subjects has to be passed to be eligible to qualify as a Fellow. You do not need to take any SA subjects
to qualify as an Associate.