The Specialist Principles (SP) modules require individuals to demonstrate an
understanding of the concepts of specific specialist areas.

Each module will be assessed using a 3 hours and 15 minutes paper-based examination. These will be taken in an
examination centre. Those who have obtained an alternative qualification have the option of applying for module
SP0. This is normally through a Level 7, Master’s Thesis in an actuarially relevant subject.
The Specialist Principle modules are:


IFOA New Curriculum

Master’s Level Thesis

ST0 is now SP0

Two of these SP modules have to be passed to be eligible to qualify as a Fellow. You do not need to take any SP
subjects to qualify as an Associate.